Completely Removing Ubuntu One From Your Machine

Well, Ubuntu One is now gone. The servers went completely Offline June 1st as promised. Now it’s probably time to remove the program from your machine. It’s not hard to do. Most people were able to completely remove the program using apt-get, Synaptic Package Manager, or the Ubuntu Software Store.

I used Synaptic. It went fine and without any problems. However, I was still receiving notifications afterward from Ubuntu One that the servers were going to be shut down, even after they had already shutdown.

If you were in the same boat as I was in, I found a great post by User ‘cossacksman’ on the Stack Exchange network in the AskUbuntu section. I followed his answer and it worked like a charm. The steps were as follows:

Open a terminal CTRL+ALT+T and type:

killall ubuntuone-login ubuntuone-preferences ubuntuone-syncdaemon

sudo rm -rf ~/.local/share/ubuntuone

rm -rf ~/.cache/ubuntuone

rm -rf ~/.config/ubuntuone

mv ~/Ubuntu\ One/ ~/UbuntuOne_old/``
(source: Ubuntu One)

And then just to make sure.

sudo apt-get remove --purge ubuntuone-*


BOOM! There you go. If you found his answer useful as I did, make sure to follow the link: AskUbuntu.com and upvote his answer.

Thanks.

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply